BJP, AIADMK seal seat-sharing deal for LS

After months of speculation over an electoral alliance between AIADMK and BJP, the two sides have arrived at a 25-15 formula to share Tamil Nadu’s 40 Lok Sabha seats (including the lone Puducherry seat). The two parties agreed to apportion seats to smaller parties from their own share.

A source privy to a meeting CM Edappadi K Palaniswami and deputy CM O Panneerselvam had with Union finance minister Piyush Goyal said that BJP may get eight seats, leaving four for PMK and three for DMDK. From its 25 seats, AIADMK has to accommodate G K Vaasan’s TMC, N Rangaswamy’s NRC and K Krishnaswamy’s PT. All the small parties, however, may not get to contest.

No comments: