Separate Admin, Revenue Divisions for Ladakh Soon

The Jammu and Kashmir government under Governor Satyapal Malik has approved the creation of a separate administrative and revenue division for Ladakh with its headquarters in Leh.

J&K would now comprise three divisions of Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh. The new division includes Leh and Kargil districts with headquarters at Leh. The government has also approved creation of the posts of Divisional Commissioner (Ladakh) and Inspector General of Police (Ladakh).

Political parties have welcomed the decision but questioned government of India’s intentions for ignoring Pir Panjal and Chenab of Jammu. The People’s Democratic Party is planning to launch an agitation demanding division status for the two mountainous regions of Jammu.

The party has also demanded that current order be amended and both Leh and Kargil be made the headquarters alternatively for six months.

Similarly, People’s Conference chief Sajad Lone also welcomed the decision with a rider. He said the move “…Puts an end to their miseries. Equally important is the demand for separate divisions for Peer Panjal and Chenab. Smaller divisions will improve governance. And it will be a great relief for the inhabitants,” Lone wrote on twitter. Leh’s majority Buddhists have been demanding Union Territory status for the entire Ladakh region, which as per the 2011 census, has the population of over 2 lakh including Muslim majority in Kargil.

No comments: