Visa on arrival

The government on Thursday extended the visa-on-arrival (VOA) facility to four Asean countries, including Laos, Vietnam, the Philippines and Cambodia. The VOA facility will be applicable from January 1, 2011. It will allow travellers single entry facility with a validity of 30 days. Initially, it will be introduced at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports. A fee of $60 will be charged for each passenger. The VOA facility will be allowed for a maximum of twice in a calendar year to a foreigner with a minimum gap of two months. The facility is non-extendable and non-convertible. The facility is offered by several south-east Asian countries and is popular with tourists looking for a break. This is in addition to the existing five countries –– Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand ––which were extended the facility in January 2010.

No comments: