Tourist visa on arrival

Taking India’s tourist visa on arrival policy to a new level, the ministry of external affairs (MEA) has approved the facility for nationals of France, Germany and Russia. Now, such visas are given to citizens of only 11 countries, of which only two, Finland and Luxembourg, are in Europe. New Zealand is the only other non-Asian country to enjoy the facility.  MEA sources said the decision would help the government meet its objective to double international tourist arrivals in the next three-four years. With the inclusion of France and Russia, it will be the first time that the policy will cover P5 countries. The tourist visa on arrival facility is likely to be extended for nationals from six more countries, including Spain and Malta, soon, the source added. India currently issues VoA to 11 countries like Japan, Indonesia, the Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Singapore, Myanmar, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand.

No comments: