E-visa list to be expanded

Citizens from China, the United Kingdom, Spain, France, Italy and Malaysia will soon be able to get online visas to India, expanding the number of countries that can avail this facility to 50. India had introduced electronic visa for 44 countries in November last year.
Countries that already have the electronic visa authorization or online visa facility include the US, Australia, Japan, Israel, Germany and Russia.
India has already issued 65,000 e-visas in the past 75 days and, on an average, 1000 electronic visa authorizations are being issued a day .There was a 421.6% jump in tourist arrivals during December 2014 compared to the previous year. India had issued 2,700 visas in December 2013 whereas the number of ETAs issued during December 2014 was 14,083.
Online visa facility is applicable for visitors traveling to India for recreation, short duration medical treatment and business visit for a stay of 30 days. It is available at nine airports, including Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Thiruvanathapuram.

No comments: