Goa: Sawant Govt Wins Trust Vote

The Pramod Sawant government won the trust vote in the Goa assembly, a day after he was sworn in.

Twenty MLAs in the 36-member assembly voted in favour of the motion and 15 against it. Those who voted in favour of the government included 11 BJP MLAs, and three each of MGP, GFP and Independents.

All 14 Congress MLAs and the lone NCP MLA voted against the motion. The House has four vacancies. The deputy Speaker belonging to the BJP, who conducted the House proceedings after Sawant quit as Speaker to take over as CM, did not vote.

Addressing the media outside the state assembly after the trust vote, Sawant said he was confident BJP would win both the Lok Sabha seats from the state and the assembly by-polls necessitated by the death of legislators including Manohar Parrikar and resignation of two Congress MLAs engineered by the BJP to secure a majority.

“We will win both the upcoming elections”. When asked if alliance partners were demanding, Sawant said, “We are here to serve the people of Goa and will continue for the next three years.” Goa assembly polls are scheduled for 2022. Sawant took his oath at 1:48 am on Tuesday, after the BJP staked claim to form the government with the support of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Goa Forward Party and independents.

There was much drama before Sawant notched up the numbers, with MGP keeping the BJP guessing till the final minute. Its leader Sudin Dhavalikar insisted on a deputy CM post, which was offered to the GFP leader Vijai Sardesai.

Then there were reports that his two men ditched him to side with the BJP. Finally, after Dhavalikar's dinner with Gadkari, the entire MGP was onboard.

According to a source, Dhavalikar’s Manohar Azgaonkar has been promised a cabinet berth. A two-time MLA who started as a party worker, Sawant steadily rose in rank and profile in BJP. While he has no political lineage, he is considered to have the backing of the RSS.

No comments: