Five states get new governors

The President appointed five governors with senior BJP leader and former Union minister Ram Naik named Uttar Pradesh governor succeeding B L Joshi, while party veterans Kesari Nath Tripathi and Om Prakash Kohli will move to Raj Bhavans in Kolkata and Ahmedabad respectively. According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan statement, Naik will take over in Uttar Pradesh after Joshi, perceived to be a close confidante of the Gandhi family, was asked to tender his resignation. Others who have been appointed include Balramji Dass Tandon as Chhattisgarh governor and Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya as Nagaland governor.

No comments: