Bengaluru Blue Print Action Group

The government has formed a vision group comprising Bengaluru's elite in its bid to breathe fresh life into an ailing Bengaluru, especially to find solutions to resolve infrastructure and civic bottlenecks.
The Bengaluru Vision Group, also called the Bengaluru Blue Print Action Group, includes eminent Bengalureans like NR Narayana Murthy of Infosys, Azim Premji of Wipro, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw of Biocon, Sachin Bansal of Flipkart, Ramesh Ramanathan and Swati Ramanathan of Janaagraha, as members. The group is headed by chief minister Siddaramaiah.
Its mission is to improve the life of Bengalureans by implementing the Bengaluru Blue Print prepared by Janaagraha, a not-for-profit organization, last year. Unlike earlier editions which had civil society members and urban experts, BVG has the industry's leading lights as non-official members. BVG aims to improve life of Bengalureans by ushering in reforms in infrastructure and systems, resource mobilization, transparent governance, especially e-governance solutions, and increased participation of citizens, organizations and industry members. A source in the government said BVG was formed following a recent meeting between NR Narayana Murthy with Bengaluru development minister KJ George. “Setting up of the Vision Group was discussed at the meeting that was also attended by Janaagraha founders Ramesh and Swathi Ramanathan. The order was issued after the CM's nod.“
Though a similar vision group was in news in 2014, it couldn't be realized following a high court order staying its formation; the case was later disposed of.Last year, when the state government sought an opinion from the additional advocate general (AAG) on the vision group, the AAG said there were no subsisting HC orders, paving the way for the group's formation.
Urban expert and BBMP restructuring committee member V Ravichandar, a member of the new group, says BVG is different from the erstwhile Bangalore Agenda Task Force (BATF), which was a civil society-led task force set up by the government. “This group is led by the government which has reached out to the civil society to work together to improve Bengaluru.“The group's other members are Kalpana Kar, Mohandas Pai, Ramakanth, K Jairaj, RK Misra and BS Patil.
The Bengaluru development minister will be the deputy chairman of the group, while all ministers representing Bengaluru, the chief secretary and the additional chief secretary (urban development department) will be members.The BBMP and BDA commissioners and the metropolitan commissioner of BMRDA will be permanent invitees, while the deputy secretary (BBMP) in urban development department, will be the group convenor.

No comments: