A new list of 13 Smart Cities

Lucknow, Faridabad, Dharmasala, Chandigarh, Raipur, New Town Kolkata, Ranchi, Bhagalpur and Telangana's Warangal are among 13 new cities named under the Centre's Smart City scheme on Tuesday. The selection of Lucknow and Dharamsala is significant as both Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh go to polls next year.
The cities have been chosen through a `fast track competition' in which 23 urban centres participated from as many states. The significant miss so far as been Uttarakhand capital Dehradun, which could not make it to the list even in this round.
The total number of such cities has now increased to 33.

No comments: