Telangana: 21 new Districts

In the single biggest decision that will change the contours of Telangana districts since the state's formation in 2014, the TRS government is all set to formally unveil 21 new districts on Dasara. This will take the number of districts in the state from 10 to 31. The formal event and festivities will be kicked off by chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao at Siddipet, a new district carved out of Medak.Irrigation minister T Harish Rao, who represents Siddipet assembly constituency , has been overseeing preparations for mega celebrations. At the stroke of 11.13 am, the chief minister will announce the formation of Siddipet district. His cabinet colleagues and others will do likewise in the districts they have been assigned to inaugurate.
In an indication that all decisions with regard to district reorganization have been done and dusted, the CM left for his farmhouse in Erravelli in Medak district, about 50 km from Siddipet town, on Monday afternoon.
More than 37 IAS and 41 IPS officers are set to receive transfer orders on Tuesday morning as part of the massive reorganization exercise. The chief secretary held a meeting with prospective collectors of new districts to brief them about the focus areas.

No comments: