BJP sweeps elections to all six Gujarat municipal bodies

BJP has swept elections to all the six municipal corporations in Gujarat by winning 483 out of 576 seats. The party retained office in Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar. The polls had been held on February 21.

Congress got a drubbing as it won only 55 seats and failed even to open its account in Surat. On the other hand, AAP put up an impressive show by winning 27 seats, all in Surat, emerging as the main opposition in Surat Municipal Corporation.

BJP won 159 out of 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 68 out of 72 in Rajkot, 50 out of 64 in Jamnagar, 44 out of 52 in Bhavnagar, 69 out of 76 in Vadodara and 93 out of 120 in Surat.

Congress, on the other hand, won seats in single digit in three corporations, and drew a blank in Surat. The party won 25 seats in Ahmedabad, four in Rajkot, 11 in Jamnagar, eight in Bhavnagar and seven in Vadodara.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, also contesting in Gujarat for the first time, won seven seats in Ahmedabad’s Muslim-dominated Jamalpur and Maktampura wards. Three BSP candidates won in Jamnagar, while an Independent won only in Ahmedabad.

BJP had won 389 seats and Congress 176 across these six municipal corporations in the 2016 elections, the saffron party therefore gaining 94 seats and Congress losing 121 this year.

No comments: