Daman & Diu, Dadra Union Territories to be merged

The Parliament passed a bill which will enable merger of two Union Territories, Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, into one unit. The RS passed the Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019 through voice vote. LS had passed this bill on November 27. The merged Union Territory will be named Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Minister of state for home G Kishen Reddy said the measure will help in strengthen administrative services, fast-track development and cut down administrative cost.

No comments: