Many states yet to implement RERA

Only three states — Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana — have implemented the Real Estate Regulatory Act in its entirety after three years of its inception.

The Real Estate Regulatory Act is functional in many other states, but its orders have not been executed in letter and spirit yet. Worse, around 15 states and Union territories, including Goa and West Bengal, have not bothered to introduce it.

Only 24 states have real estate appellate tribunals and their websites are operational. Four north-eastern states — Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Sikkim — are in the process of notifying the rules.

According to the latest data, around 46,695 projects and 36,823 real estate agents are registered under RERA across India. Maharashtra leads in the registration of projects (22,930) under RERA, while Uttar Pradesh is in pole position in disposal of cases (13,019).

The data of the ministry of housing and urban affairs revealed that 30,739 cases under RERA were disposed of in the country. But there are several states that have not been able to dispose of a single case.

Chandigarh has a permanent real estate regulatory authority, but it has been able to register only three projects and 12 real estate agents. There has been no case disposal in the state yet. Ditto in Daman and Diu. Only 22 projects have been registered there with no case disposal. In Kerala, no project has been registered under RERA.

No comments: