Smart Cities snippets

Bhopal, Surat, Bhubaneswar, Udaipur, Ahmedabad, Varanasi and Indore are set to be declared India’s ‘first set of smart cities’. Seven years after launch of a flagship urban renewal mission to make 100 cities sustainable and citizen-friendly, the seven cities from Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Odisha and Uttar Pradesh will be showcased as such cities by the end of the year.

The Smart Cities Mission, launched on June 25, 2015, to ‘smarten up’ cities with eco-friendly hi-tech solutions to urban problems, is in its last year of implementation. The mission period ends in June 2023. Of the 100 cities, the seven have taken a lead with most projects completed. Bhopal has completed 92% projects, Surat 82.44%, Udaipur 78%, Bhubaneswar 76%, Indore, Varanasi and Ahmedabad 70%. The cities are expected to complete the remaining work by the yearend. Five of the seven cities with maximum completed.

No comments: