Prez poll sees over 99% voting

Over 99% of elected representatives -MPs and MLAs -across the country cast their votes on Monday to elect the next President in a direct contest between NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and the opposition's Meira Kumar. Counting of votes will take place on Thursday.

Voting was held in 32 polling stations, including one in Parliament House (Room No.62) and one each in every state assembly. Ballot boxes from the states will be brought to Delhi for counting.

Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Bihar, Haryana, Himachal, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Uttarakhand and Puducherry recorded 100% voting while in Parliament House, the voting percentage was 99%.

The voting percentage for MPs was 99.61% while it was 99.37% for MLAs.

While the sanctioned strength of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha was 776, a total of 771 MPs were eligible to cast their votes. There are two vacancies each in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, while BJP MP Chedi Paswan does not have voting rights as there is a petition on his disqualification pending in Supreme Court.

No comments: