Institutions of Eminence: New Additions

The ministry of human resource development issued orders to five public universities conveying their declaration as Institutions of Eminence. Moreover, letter of intent (LoI) has also been sent to five private universities for the IoE status. The government has issued the orders based on the advice of the UGC and the empowered expert committee which recommended granting eminence status to these institutions on August 2, 2019.

Earlier, in the first round in 2018 six institutions were granted the status of IoE.

The new additions to the IoE lists are IIT-Madras, Banaras Hindu University, IIT-Kharagpur, University of Delhi and University of Hyderabad. In addition, LoIs were issued to five private universities for accepting and sending their preparedness for being declared as IoE.

In respect of two more universities – Shiv Nadar University, UP and O P Jindal University, Haryana – letters were issued to the state governments to pass legislation in the state assembly to cease the status of these universities as private universities so as to enable them to be considered as IoE. Deemed Universities. Two state universities – Jadavpur University, West Bengal and Anna University, Tamil Nadu – were also selected by the EEC and the state governments have been asked to indicate their commitment towards their contribution under the IoE scheme.

The benefits of the IoE status for government institutions include additional funding up to Rs.1,000 crore. The IoE tag also ensures complete academic and administrative autonomy and complete financial autonomy.

No comments: