Five assembly polls to begin from March 27

As many as 824 assembly constituencies shall be going for polls in four states — Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Assam — and Puducherry (Union Territory), said Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India Sunil Arora on Friday.

Tamil Nadu assembly elections to be held in a single phase on April 6, Kerala also goes to polls on April 6; Assam assembly elections to be held in three phases — first phase of polling March 27, second phase on April 1 and third phase on April 6; Puducherry elections are to be held on April 6.

Counting of all votes will be held on May 2. “Nearly 18.68 crore electors will vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations for 824 seats in four assembly elections,” Sunil Arora said addressing media persons here today.

He also said the Bihar Assembly polls last year in November amid the COVID-19 pandemic was a watershed moment and proved to be a litmus test for the Election Commission of India.

No comments: